Here I was worried that “Important Things with Demetri Martin” had been canceled, but apparently he just finished with the first season.  Short season.

Well, as I said, I haven’t written anything down in quite awhile so this is going to be rather “stream of consciousness” and rather “bullet-pointish”.

I will start by saying that I am writing on a new computer that I received a little over a week ago.  I can actually multi-task on this one and it is pretty darn fast.  But I am finding that some programs that worked perfectly on the old computer aren’t working so well on the new one.  Maybe because this one runs Vista?  Or is it the 64-bit part?  No idea.  But I am happy to have it.  The display isn’t quite right either so I will have to mess with that a bit more.

Also, as I write this, I am watching the light flashing on an external hard drive I bought about 4-5 months ago. I loaded a bunch of stuff on it and a lot of the stuff was also on the laptop or my old computer.  But when I reformated the laptop, I never did transfer everything back.  The day I received the new computer I was moving more stuff onto the external drive when all of a sudden it decided it didn’t want to work anymore.  NONE of our computers recognized it and I am reformatting it as I write this.  It is reformatting VERY slowly, so I am starting to wonder if there aren’t other issues.  Piece of junk.

How about that UNC victory in the men’s basketball tourney?  Exciting?  No.  I filled out a bracket this year but got NONE of the Final Four correct.  I didn’t catch a single game due to various other committments and when I saw the score in the first half of the final game, I decided not to watch anymore.  Tarhell domination. Darn Roy Williams!

Speaking of tourney brackets, I started doing brackets for songs in my ITunes library by having it randomly pick 64 songs and then deciding on a winner overtime.  I am in the Final Four for my current bracket.  Here it is.

Random Song Smackdown II

I wanted to be done with it at the same time of the basketball tournament, but I got sick a couple Sundays back and it was the weirdest thing.  I kept running a fever about every other day.  This went on for a week.  No vomitting (thank goodness!), but general malaise.  I ddin’t even feel like reading.  I missed a couple non-consecutive days of work, which I found never makes your boss curious.  Over this past weekend, the fever was gone but my neck and pretty much the rest of my body became incredibly sore!  Today is really the first day the soreness has finally disappeared. 

About the Arby’s Roastburger….I don’t get it.  It’s not a burger.  Just a regular roast beef sandwich.  Who are they trying to fool?  I had one.  Tasted like a roast beef sandwich. 

Now the best news for last.  Two weeks ago we went to the state competition for MathCounts.  My two oldest sons were part of a team and my oldest, Max, was ready to finish in the Top 10.  MathCounts is a math competition between 6th through 8th graders and they all go up against each other regardless of grade.  Max is in 8th grade and finished 15th out of probably 160 kids.  Mitchell got 57th, but he is only a 6th grader.  All in all, job well done.  The other two homeschoolers on the team didn’t do so hot so the team finished 15th out of probably 40 schools.  In the regional competion, they took 1st and Max took 1st individually, which is why they got to go the state competition in Des Moines

Two days later we finally went to King’s Pointe in Storm Lake, IA.  It’s a waterpark, but only the indoor part was open.  The indoor park was smaller than I thought, but Sunday is family day and it only cost $5 per person.  However, it took one hour and 45 minutes to get there!  I was thinking it was only one hour before we decided to go down the same day.  It wasn’t very crowded so we got to do the slides plenty, but we had to leave earlier than expected as everyone was coughing from an overabundance of chlorine in the air.  I was OK, but the kids were not fairing too well and kept having to go outside to get fresh air.  Going out in 40 degree weather in a wet bathing suit gets old.

Speaking of old, the ceiling in the sunroom still needs repair as does the flat roof.  No resolution came of filing a report with the BBB as the roofer scoofed and said that his work was good.  Don’t think so and I still may file a lawsuit.  I did file a claim with State Farm, and they should be out tomorrow.  However, it didn’t sound like they would pay for the roof repair either.  Avoid flat roofs at all costs. 

Enough for tonight!

Leave a Reply

