Free Food

It wasn’t intentional, but I managed to score a couple free meals today.  First, several of us went out for lunch today.  That doesn’t happen very often.  We went out to celebrate the birthday of a coworker, and also my birthday.  So as we were leaving, someone ripped the check from my hand and paid the bill.  He didn’t have to do that, so that was very cool.

Then tonight I went to a happy hour after work where you get a cool “tiki” cup for your fancy drink.  And you get to keep the cup.  I was told the drinks are $9 though, but I never found out.  I tried to get my check for about 10 minutes, and finally I was going to give someone cash so I could leave.  He said to me, “Don’t bother, I got it.”  “But what about all the food we ordered?”  (We ordered a few appetizers).  “I got that too.”  I persisted in leaving some cash, but he wouldn’t have it, so I took advantage again.  Was I bad in doing so?  I needed to get home so I didn’t want to argue about it. 

Currently, I have a splitting headache.  Could have been the drink.

Leave a Reply

