Time to Lose

Today I agreed to be part of a “biggest loser”-type group that will be competing in a contest to see who can lose the most weight. I was the fifth person to sign up for the group and they needed five people.  I decided that I need more motivation to lose weight and because the program doesn’t start until May 15th,  it gives me a couple more weeks to loaf.  But because I have a team relying on me, I don’t want to let anyone down.  However, it would be quite funny if I actually weighed more at the end of the contest than at the beginning.  Okay, not really funny at all, because if that were true I would be in worse health than I am now,  and right now I’m at an all-time high. 

So I guess it’s no more full-bodied cokes….only the diet stuff.  Or dare I say water only? Don’t know if I can hack that.  I will have to watch what I eat, but most importantly, I have to get to exercising.  By the way….the winners will get $5000 to donate to a charity of their choice and each member of the group will win an IPad.  Not a bad little incentive.

3 thoughts on “Time to Lose

  1. Reed97

    It is ALL about exercise. I hurt my back and have been forced to do this piddly little crunches and pilates/yoga-type exercises. I was already in pretty OK shape, but doing these on a daily basis has changed the game. I don’t have a six pack, but I am in my best shape in probably a decade. So my recommendation: ANY TIME you are watching TV or a movie, do exercises at the same time. There are a ton you can do that require no equipment at all. Watch the Bulls beat the Hawks again? That’s 3 hours of an easy and useful workout…

    Reply
  2. PMaz

    I agree with both of you.  Exercise is always the key to when I have lost weight, not so much a change in diet.  It used to be I could get excited about it to an extent, but I dread it now.  But your method seems the way to go, Andrew.  Tie it in with something I can do at the same time that I would normally do (which is probably NOT watching the NBA) and start out with some simple exercises to tone up.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

