Oops….They Did it Again

We have two main computers in our household….a laptop and a trusty desktop.  I never use our laptop, except to clean it up, because I am the only one who does maintenance on the computers.   Because of how messed up the laptop has been in the past, I am very protective of the desktop, not allowing certain sites to be visited, no second accounts, etc.  

A year or so back Max went to sites he shouldn’t have been going to, and I paid the price.  It took me hours to rid it of a nasty virus.  Thursday, Julie left it “unlocked” and Max went to work again, this time creating his own account (making himself administrator) and a guest account, and I come home to a note that says “the computer doesn’t work right after Max was on it.”  The note was from Julie.  I still haven’t figured out what she means by “doesn’t work right.”  But, I can confidently say, it DOESN’T work right.  It’s safe to say that Max won’t be on it for a long time.  As a matter of fact, no one but me will.  I eradicated the other accounts and changed the password to my account.  I am doing a system restore on it right now and it doesn’t appear to be going through.  My computer has said “preparing to restore your system” for some time now, probably 10 minutes.  Could there really be something preventing a system restore even?  Maybe it’s all hardware related, I don’t know, but I will say that I am PISSED that I have to spend my time working on fixing it while they play.  And I can say with 100% assurance that if I take it to someone to be fixed and it has anything to do with Max or can be traced to a site, he will be paying out of his savings. 

Leave a comment