My Summer Journal, Part Whatever

I have been carrying around a list of the things we did over the summer that I have been meaning to journal on here but just never feel like it because I know it will stretch on for more than 5 sentences. But I might as well go ahead and do it, so let’s start with Stone Mountain.

We first thought about going to Stone Mountain on 4th of July weekend, but wisely decided not to do that. It would have been extremely crowded and therefore unpleasant. Stone Mountain is not a free park; it’s very much the opposite. First, you pay $10 to get into the park and you could stop there. But it’s almost like a mini amusement park, with zip lines, a train, duck boats, etc. We planned to select one activity for the day. However, before we knew it, we were buying an all-day pass, which in total cost us well over $100. So much for having a plan.

We started with 4-D movie which appeared to be just clips for the movie “Yogi Bear”. I am pretty certain they did not film something special just for Stone Mountain, but I could be wrong. I guess I will have to watch the movie to find out. I can’t remember everything, but we also played mini-golf and had to listen to Grace complain the whole time, as she didn’t want to play. It was almost a momentous occasion as Julie was beating me for most of the game, but I came through and beat her in the end. However, not sure who the ultimate winner was.

The big thing we wanted to do was take the sky tram to the top of the mountain. It’s not a huge mountain, but numerous reference books and Georgia literature have dubbed Stone Mountain as “the largest exposed piece of granite in the world”. Not sure if this is exactly true, but the enormous bas-relief on its north face IS the largest bas-relief in the world. It depicts three figures of the Confederate States of America: Stonewall Jackson, Robert E. Lee, and Jefferson Davis. There are plans to also add some of the members of Lynyrd Skynyrd. OK, that is definitely not true.

After we hung out at the top for awhile, Julie and I decided we really want to take the path down to the bottom. Thought I believe Grace said she wanted to go with us, we knew that wasn’t a good idea. It was going to take 45 minutes and we had never done it before. The kids took the sky tram back down and we told them to meet us at the train at 4:40pm. We made it, but my face was bright red from sweating when we arrived. And we really had to step it up the last few minutes to make it on time. I noticed too late that there was a shortcut we could have taken to get back to the amusements area. Oops. But truthfully, I didn’t get the map from Julie until AFTER we had passed the point to take the shortcut.

All in all, it was a fun day, but as I said, pretty expensive. And I didn’t even get into having to buy lunch there, which we got in line at the exact wrong time. Took forever.

The other thing we did not do is watch the free laser show after dark. We will have to go back soon to check that out. It will still cost the $10 to get in, but that figures out to be less than $2 per person. Cheap entertainment. Plus, perhaps I will actually ascend the mountain this time on the trail? Hmmmmm.

Leave a Reply

