Waking Up Spooked

The last 3-4 nights I have been waking up in the middle of the night, usually around 3am. Last night I woke up around 4am, which was especially troubling since I did not fall asleep until around 1am and I had to get up at 6am to take Max to cross country and to volunteer at the fencing tournament.

Each time I wake up in the middle of the night, my mind starts thinking of the movie “Paranormal Activity”. I keep wondering if I will hear someone whisper my name or hear a loud crash coming from downstairs, which happened several times in the movie. Previous nights I heard dead silence, and fell back asleep rather quickly. Last night I heard a steady hum, much like you hear when the refrigerator door is open. Also, I believe I was hearing the tree outside the window scrape against the house. Naturally, it took a little longer to fall asleep. I sure hope this isn’t building up to something. After all, Halloween is in two days. I might want to think about sleeping with a baseball bat nearby, though they usually have no effect on ghosts. Or ghouls. Maybe goblins.

Leave a Reply

