Doing the Right Thing, Even if It Costs You

Today we were in Trader Joe’s and I decided to do a mix & match with their different beers. I’m not much of a beer drinker, but for some reason it sounded appealing. I figured I might have one or two during the Super Bowl. There was no price on the sign advertising it, and I wasn’t sure how it worked. After getting some help, I learned that they simply priced by the bottle. I took one of the six-pack cartons and started pulling bottles from wherever I wanted. When the lady wrung it up, the price was only $4.99, which was the price of what WOULD have been in the cardboard carrier they had me use. I considered letting it slide, but it was obvious she didn’t see that all the beers were different. I told her the mistake and a manager came by to help with the correction. It only came out to a couple bucks more in the end and I felt better about it.

Now that I think about it, she didn’t even card me. Must be the grey hairs.

Leave a Reply

