That Darn Beeping

Last night I feel asleep while reading but Julie came to bed later and made enough noise to wake up. She got in bed, quickly fell asleep, and then it started. “Beep!” One short, slightly loud beep at about a 90 second interval. I spent over 30 minutes trying to figure out where it was coming from. I went on both sides of the upstairs, downstairs, the back of our master bathroom, the kitchen….just about everywhere. I finally concluded that it must be the fire alarm and I would address it tomorrow. I luckily fell asleep, but it was probably around 1am.

This morning I was talking to Julie, who was still in bed, and now I was hearing THREE beeps. WTF?!? On her nightstand, I spot a blue, egg-shaped toy with batteries sitting beside it. Was this the culprit? Julie tried to open it, but couldn’t. I took it and saw it flipped open but I could not get it to turn on. Was it a “battery low” warning? No idea, but I do know it’s not going to happen again tonight, even if I have to throw that sucker out the window.

Leave a Reply

