Garage Sale Finds

 After dropping off Max yesterday for work, I stopped by Biscuits & More, took advantage of my BankAmeriDeals offer, and then went looking for garage sales.  The first one I stopped at wasn’t much of anything, but then I had a curious find at the next one.  I had been planning to stop by the library to pick up a book for my daughter later that day (library didn’t open for 2 hours).  I had already been to another branch that didn’t have it the day before.  It’s book #7 from the Lemony Snicket series – The Vile Village.  I was shocked to find one Lemony Snicket book at the garage sale in great condition….and it was the exact one I wanted.  And it was only 25 cents!  I picked up 2 Nancy Drew books too, as well as a Beverly Cleary book just to make it an even $1.  For another $1, I got a copy of “Waiting for Guffman” and the novel “Dracula” by Bram Stoker to add to my shelf of classics.

At the next sale, I found a slew of used XBox controllers.  Not that we play the XBox (the original) a lot, but when we do, there is really only one good controller.  They were priced at $3 each, but I talked them down to $2 each since I wasn’t sure how they would perform.  I had Roman try them both when I got home and they were fine. I also picked up some old game called Qwink by the makers of Scrabble.  Looks like it came out around 1985 and I don’t see that they make it anymore.  Could be wrong.  We tried it last night.  Only cost me 50 cents.  I also picked up the book “The Other Boelyn Girl” for the heck of it.  It’s not for me.
True, I don’t have the eye for important things like coffee makers and couches, but it’s fun to look through old media, books, and games.  I was really hoping to find a good used bike.  Maybe next week.
Leave a Reply

