Car Hunt Continues

From the moment I got up today, it seemed like all I was doing was going between the following websites: Kelly Blue Book, Consumer Reports, CarMax, and various other dealer websites.  I became fascinated at one time with buying a used Mazda Miata, but I didn’t realize until later in the day (when I was physically at a Mazda dealership) that the Miata only has 2 seats.  Also, the vehicle I considered had 100K miles on it.  My brother-in-law didn’t think a 4-cylinder car with that many miles had much left to give.  He leaned me towards a 2003 Acura TL I had spotted on a dealer website.  It wasn’t until after 4pm that Julie and I checked it out, only to find that the car had a flat and we couldn’t take it for a test drive.  Instead, we took a Volkswagen Jetta for a test drive, a car I really had not considered.  I really didn’t want to get another compact car, but it’s hard to pass up their better fuel economy.  Plus, I believe the Acura requires premium gas!  With gas at $3.95 for regular, I cringe at the thought of buying premium.  We are to go back Monday to look at cars.  I don’t plan to do any car shopping on Sunday.

We also took a moment to go to lunch at Ritters, another restaurant for which I had a BankAmerica deal.  We were literally the only people in the restaurant at 12:30pm.  I was shocked because the lunch was quite good, if a bit pricey.  Atmosphere was great as well.  Not the best location, but not terrible either.
The handyman I hired to do some work in keeping water from coming into the crawlspace finished up yesterday.  I don’t foresee it costing much, but haven’t got the bill.  Later in the week Arrow will be coming out to check out our attic, which is infested with critters.  Cash is dwindling, however, so I don’t know how much more we can do.
Leave a Reply

