Mystery Solved

I finally figured out the artist behind a song from the very distant past.  I remember hearing it on my way to work around 1986-1987, but it says it came out in 1988, when I was a senior.  I know where I worked then and didn’t think that was right.  For that reason, I came up with who the artist and song title (I wasn’t even sure of the song title) doing an internet search about 8 years ago, but didn’t pursue it too hard because I thought it was a long shot that it was the song I once knew.  But I did search for a video with no luck.

Today I first tried Spotify, then Rdio, then Grooveshark, using the information I had obtained years ago. Before I used an artist name, I tried the song title (“No Simple Cure”) and it brought back Simple Minds….a song called “No Cure”.  I listened, but that wasn’t it.  At least it was an artist from that time period.  I had learned the artist was possibly Baxter Robertson, but they had him listed as Baxter Robinson in Spotify with one song from “The Karate Kid” soundtrack.  Same with the other streaming sites, though I believe one did use Robertson.  I never heard of the guy.  Then I tried YouTube using the song title and there she blows!  Found it!  And now I share it.  I remember the song being a bit more manic, like “Shock the Monkey” by Peter Gabriel.  In fact, I always thought Gabriel was the artist.
By the way, I went straight to eBay and bought the LP for $2. Curious to hear the whole album, though the sound is a bit dated. If only there was a CD.
Leave a Reply

