The Wonderful Book Sale

This morning I went to the Cobb County Library Book Sale.  I considered getting there when it opened, but I decided I didn’t want to contend with rush hour traffic.  So I got there closer to 10am.

The lot was absolutely packed, more so than I have ever seen.  I drove around the parking lot for awhile until I finally settled on a spot.  I brought in two grocery bags, which I can’t even remember to bring when I go grocery shopping.  I started with the A/V stuff but it was almost 90% VHS tapes.  Very few DVDs or CDs.  I didn’t buy any, though I may go back on Sunday when the price drops in half.  Vinyl was only 50 cents, and I did buy Simon and Garfunkel’s “Bridge over Troubled Water” and “Saturday Night Fever” soundtrack.  Later I found a good copy of Christopher Cross’s Grammy winning album from the 80’s.  Did I need any of it?  No.  But it’s fun to shop.
What I even need less are books, since I have a ton I haven’t read.  Still, I had some authors in mind and ended up picking out a few.  All paperbacks are 50 cents unless it’s the larger ones.  I am always on the lookout for classics, but only picked up Kurt Vonnegut’s “Slaughterhouse Five”, which I may actually reread.  I never reread books.  I picked up a couple of Harlan Coben’s “Myron Bolitar” mysteries, one of which the library does not have.  I also bought a Robert Crais book.  Don’t know squat about him.  The biggest find was a book called “Pandora’s Clock” by John Jance.  I don’t know anything about it.  I call it a big find because for a couple years now I knew there was a guy that wrote thrillers that took place on airplanes, but I could not remember his name.  I thought it was J.A. Jance.  It messed me up for years.  Finally figured it out.  For all I know, his books could stink.
All in all I spent $12.  I even put some stuff back.  There was nothing that particularly got me excited, so I won’t be going back tomorrow.  But I may go back Sunday near closing when you can fill a bag really cheaply.  At least I think they still do that. 
Leave a Reply

