Bookmobiles

Back when I was around 10 years old and living in North Carolina, we had a bookmobile come through our neighborhood about once every couple weeks.  I honestly don’t recall the local library back then.  Not that my parents were big on going to the library, but I do have memories of a lot of libraries where we lived, except when I was there.  Perhaps this was our only option.  I saw an article about bookmobiles today and it brought back fond memories of visiting it.  It wasn’t a very large van at all.  And I don’t recall exactly how it worked.  Was it like the ice cream man, which you had no idea when he might come by? Or were they scheduled visits?  I am thinking it was the latter, because I can even recall the location it stopped in our neighborhood, which was not particularly close to our house.

Just like now, I wasn’t walking out of that thing without something in my hand.  I can thank the bookmobile for introducing me to The Chronicles of Narnia.  Though I started WAY out of order with “The Silver Chair”, it didn’t matter.  I would have enjoyed just checking something out and NOT reading it.  But I was a big reader back then and without that bookmobile, I may have not read as much. Many small communities still rely on bookmobiles.  As books become more digitally oriented, they will all disappear, as well as libraries.  At least this is according to a book I read recently.  I hope that’s not true in my lifetime, however, as I enjoy the feel of a book in my hand.  Each has its own size, paper quality, font, etc.  Reading everything on a tablet is boring to me, but that’s just me.  I guess I can get used to it.
Leave a Reply

