The Godin

I don’t know why, but I am giving Seth Godin another chance after “All Marketers Are Liars”, which I read years ago.  I came upon a list of recommended market research books and it was on the list.  It’s not directly related to marketing research, but it certainly is written for the “business person” audience.  

The book is called “Linchpin”, and so far (like the other book), it seems to be one concept extended over 200 pages.  Perhaps I should check out his blog instead of reading a book by him.  It seems a much better forum for what he has to write.  I will say some of the vignettes within the book act as inspiration, and perhaps that is all his intent.  Other times it seems like pretentious bombast, especially when he calls upon names of people I don’t know but writes it like I SHOULD.  In some cases, I probably should.
It’s clear that this is a much better book than AMAL and I will read it until it’s finished, but it may take another 5-10 years before I try another Godin book.  There’s just too much out there I would rather read.
Leave a Reply

