Bailing

In the last week I have bailed from reading two books.  The first was checked out of the library: Robert Sawyer’s “WWW: Watch”.  It’s the 2nd book in a trilogy.  I read the first one a couple years back and to be honest, I didn’t like it.  But I love most of Sawyer’s other books, so I wanted to see if the series got better.  The first book was about a girl who is blind and given sight, and she can SEE and communicate with a “consciousness” within the internet.  It’s been awhile and I might not be doing it justice, but either way, I thought it read like a young adult book. Plus, it was very much a “first book” in a series in that it only seemed to develop characters.  There was no plot.  I recall something about a smart monkey that was creating paintings but I had NO CLUE where it was leading.  The book just simply ended.  The first book as well as the rest in the series received good reviews, and for the life of me, I don’t know why.  Sorry Robert.  I bailed after about 30 pages.

The second book is Don DeLillo’s “White Noise”.  Unlike the other book, I had never read a thing from DeLillo.  This is a book I picked up at a library book sale.  On the cover it states it is part of the “Great Novels of the 20th Century” series.  There are some very well known books in this series, mostly older.  “White Noise” came out in 1985.  The prose in this book was very strange.  Even stranger was the dialogue.  I was finding I was not only absorbing any of it, but I wasn’t enjoying the read.  I went back and read reviews on Goodreads and they ranged from people who thought it was brilliant satire to those who threw it against the wall.  I was definitely leaning towards the latter.  It didn’t sound like it was going to get any easier to read, and I was about 50 pages into it.  I am not 100% certain that I will stop reading it, but I am going to take a break from it for now.
Leave a Reply

