Knowing My Way Around

I have left the building at lunch probably a few more times than I should have for three reasons: 1) I don’t really have anyone to hang with at the moment, (2) outside food tends to taste better, and (3) I just want to know what all is in the surrounding area and learn my way around. I have found that traffic is crazy in the perimeter area during the lunch hour and it can take up to 10 minutes just to drive a couple miles. Having to take two elevators to my car slows things down a bit as well.

When I leave, it’s not always to go out for food. Today I went to Men’s Wearhouse to use a coupon for $25 off a $100 purchase and a $50 gift certificate to go with it. I found $100 doesn’t really go all that far there as I wanted to buy shirts. Instead, I bought a jacket on clearance and I rarely wear jackets. I was kind of sweet-talked into the jacket. I think they hire former con men to work in there stores. Just kidding. While I was there, though, I heard someone mention she was going to contact George Zimmer to complement the manager. Apparently she hadn’t yet heard that George Zimmer was ousted.

I have also gone to Barnes & Noble over lunch, as well as Total Wine. It’s only a matter of time until I go over to the Goodwill store or even the mall.

I have tried several different ways for my commute, especially going home. I find I get a little more impatient going home and try to find a short cut. However, it never really works all that well. There seems to be no great way to go home. And if it rains coming to work (as it did today) or going home (as it did last week)? Forget it. You can count on at LEAST 15 minutes (usually more) added to the commute.

It’s hard to believe I am only about 11 miles from work. It still beats driving into the city. So far.

Leave a Reply

