The (More Than a) Week in Games

Nothing new, but I can’t keep up with blogging. But it wasn’t really a heavy week in games, even though I added seven to the collection on Friday.  Here they are:

  • The Castles of Burgundy
  • Colt Express
  • Frank’s Zoo
  • Isle of Trains
  • Penny Press
  • Splendor
  • Wyatt Earp

Of those, I had only played Splendor.  “Burgundy” came as a very good deal on Amazon and the others were from Board Game Warehouse.

The kids and I got in a round of Frank’s Zoo on Saturday night, which I believe is the oldest game on the list and is a fairly simple card game with a nice twist when it comes to team play (team changes each round).

On Sunday night we played Colt Express, which I had to put together on Friday night.  It has a 3-D train for a board.  It was a total blast and Julie won, which made her happy.  I can’t wait to get it out again.

Monday I went to game night for 2.75 hours and I got in 3 games!  All belonged to Leon and one of them I had been wanting to play since I tried to potentially make a trade for it at Origins.  That game is Airlines Europe.  It’s by the creator of Ticket to Ride, but it’s a lot different than that one.  It involves buying stock.  The score was fairly close at the end, so that always makes for a good game.

The first game we played that night was “Deep Sea Adventure”, which is a mini-game that I performed rather poorly.  It has a very interesting mechanic and I think it’s something I would like to own should it become more readily available in the States.

We finished the night with M, which reminded me of a non-speed version of Set.  Honestly, I couldn’t figure out what was going on most of the game and somehow I won.  Therefore, I think it’s one of those games you can get really lucky.

Who knows what else I would have gotten in that night!  Had to leave early to make it over to Katy’s house (along with Julie) to meet her in-laws.

Leave a Reply

