The Week in Games

Fairly busy week of gaming, though ironically I did not play any during the last two days of the break.  I guess I had some things to catch up on after all I did during the week.

I went to Jason’s Deli once again, continuing a nice little streak.  We kicked the night off with a six-player game of Parade, finally giving me the opportunity to play it for the first time.  I did not win, but I think I liked it more than the others, getting comments like “seems pretty random”.  However, aren’t most card games like that?  Luck of the draw.  And to be honest, I felt this one had a bit more to it and does take some strategy, especially at the end when you have to plan which cards to keep and which to discard.  This ensures that everyone will take some points.   Afterwards, we played Medieval Academy, which Jennifer wanted to play again.  This was the first time for Joe, but Adam apparently had played before and didn’t like it this time either.  So we played his game next, which was Abyss.  I really enjoyed Abyss, but could it be because I won?  Hmmmm.

Mitchell had Luan over on Tuesday night and we played a couple games of King of Tokyo before I had to call it a night.  We did not use the power ups since it was Luan’s first time playing, and he won on his first game.  Roman joined the 3 of us for the 2nd game and Roman won.  Naturally, Mitchell blamed me for Roman’s win.  It’s always my fault.

I started the Thanksgiving break off by sitting down with my brand new copy of Bottom of the 9th and decided to play the solo variant.  Mistake.  I didn’t find it very enjoyable at all as it was very complicated.  It would have greatly helped had I played the two-player version first.  Still need to do that.  I can’t even remember if I won.

On Thanksgiving, we played a bunch of video games like Katy’s “Just Dance” for the Wii and I played some solo Mario Kart 8, which I hadn’t played in a long time.  But I also broke open the first of the R&R party games I received: Strike a Pose.  A pretty fun game overall, but the cards that come with it don’t seem very durable at all.  I probably need to sleeve them.

Mike, Mitchell, and I also played Parade.  Mitchell once again didn’t like my strategy.  After that, Mike and I finally got to playing his Empire Builder game.  Unfortunately, we did not finish and never got to return to it over the break, which is disappointing.  Simplistic in its play, but will take a while to finish.  Overall, I really like it.

Friday turned out to be a heavy game-playing day.   I wasn’t really planning on it, but Max had Evan and Drew over and they brought out Simply Suspects, which I don’t care for as much as I used to but the kids still love it.  I was the first one out of the game, and I wasn’t even Jake the Snake!   We also played King of Tokyo (with powerups this time), The Resistance, Parade, the 2nd R&R party game Pluckin’ Pairs.  Pluckin’ Pairs turned out to be a really fun experience for all as people wanted to continue playing it.  I am guessing we played at least 7 games , with several people coming in throughout.  At the peak we had 8 of us.

I still haven’t gotten to play Steam Works, and there are still 3 other R&R party games.  Plus, I found out the IELLO shipment arrived today!  Overwhelming!

Leave a Reply

